Ari Kellen’s Favorite Music From The 90′s

As a child of the 90’s I hold a warm place in my heart for the songs that remind me of a simpler time. The throwback Thursday playlist on Spotify has to be one of my favorite playlists not made by me. I find it to be a gateway to childhood memories I would otherwise not be aware of and that in itself brings a smile to my face. Below, I would like to offer a grouping of songs that remind of my childhood, force me to sing along, and that just rock. Here is my favorite jams from the 90’s.

Ari Kellen

Nirvana, Smells Like Teen Spirit– These guys defined the grunge rock age and made wearing flannels cool. This song brings me back to the dark days of overall style and teen angst.

Jay-Z, Hard Knock Life ( Ghetto Anthem )- A sampled beat that you cannot get out of your skull has been sampled so many times thereafter that it has turned into sampling inception. This is one of those songs that propelled Jay into the business he is today.

Whitney Houston, I Will Always Love You– Originally written and recorded by Dolly Parton, Whitney Houston used her golden pipes to blast this song into one of the best pop songs ever. I recall not being able to turn on the radio without this song playing on at least one station.

Blackstreet, No Diggity– I highly doubt that you have not heard this song at a recent house party and once it starts to play, that means the party has just begun. This is a complete jam that the average human body cannot help but to dance to.

Hanson, MMMMBop– The pseudo-scat song by three pre-teens with golden locks at first was not my cup of tea. But hours after listening to the song I could not shake the catchy, non-english melody.

Puff Daddy/Faith Evans- I’ll Be Missing You– This one tugs at the heartstrings for yours truly. The thought of what might have been if Biggie had lived into the new century still rests on the minds of many-a hip hop fan and this was a tribute from his widow and his best friend.

That was just a taste of my favorite songs from the 90’s. There will be plenty more to come in later weeks to remind you of all the great music that was created when we were young kids.

To read the article cited from, click here.

from Ari Kellen | Musical Minded http://ift.tt/1DDt2uI

Leave a Reply

